Museum Paulina Bisdom Van Vliet

Welcome to the Diocese Museum Paulina van Vliet site, a jewel among the Dutch house museums. The house is unique because of its authentic interiors from the last quarter of the nineteenth century. The atmosphere is determined by the wealth and taste of the fin de siècle. It is the world of Paulina Diocese van Vliet (1840-1923), the last descendant of an old merchant family from the town of Haastrecht, at Gouda.


The museum shows 300 years of accumulated family for sex Diocese van Vliet. But it is above all a very unique and valuable museum as a historical document of the residence around 1900. Because the interior is completely original left off with all the associated interior textiles such as fixed carpets, curtains and door curtains. No seat has been moved and no Chinese plate hanged since the death of Paulina in 1923. The atmosphere of the interiors from the time of Couperus's heroine Eline Vere is in the Diocese Museum Paulina van Vliet also a very tangible. 

 

Museum van Vliet Paulina Diocese is a house that will is destined to museum by the last occupant Paulina van Vliet Diocese in 1923. Her father, Marcellus, who had built the house in 1874 to 1877, allocated a portion of the first floor to themselves itself and another part for Paulina and her husband Johan le Fèvre de Montigny. Paulina's husband followed her father after his death as mayor of Haastrecht after they left their home in The Hague and involved the family (1877). After her husband was deceased (1881) Paulina lived there alone.

The device entirely from the possession of the family Diocese of Vliet order to identify art and objects from one position so all could have around. The furniture in all kinds of neo - also called 'genres' called - were then modern, but Paulina had lots of antiques around. The way in which the objects are put down and hanged have not changed since the occupation. Paulina devoted himself to decorate the walls with boards of Chinese porcelain which she hung in patterns (such as a star or a fan), as was fashionable in the late nineteenth century.

The house has an architecture that is typical of the period around 1875. It was built by the Hague contractor Theodorus Hooft together with the local carpenter Cornelis Straver. The front and side walls were put on the foundations of the old family house and the rear came a little further back, toward the IJssel, but before the red beech that there was put down in 1694 by the first diocese.

The house has seven windows wide and has two floors below the roof. The facade has a classic look from the corner stucco accents and highlighting the central, award winning entry party and pronounced cornice with consoles and balustrade. Two vases with agaves in the decorative balcony are characteristic of the image refers to French and Italian palaces. The layout of the house can be seen on the facade arrangement, as was usual. Downstairs is the living and service rooms and upstairs was slept and worked.

The beautifully draped curtains ensure that the brightest sunlight is kept out of the leave. And the artificial lighting is scarce. You will also see the interior as a nineteenth-century man saw it: in very dim light and mysterious dark corners. The rooms were only lit at the time of Paulina by candlelight and a single oil lamp. The bulbs that are attached here and there under the ceiling dating back to the first time museum, 1920.

There has in recent years considerably invested in the maintenance and restoration of the museum building and the collection. The board of the Foundation Paulina Diocese van Vliet was not only the roof and addressing the facades, but also entameerde restoration projects for the clocks, paintings and interior textiles. The entire museum collection is recorded in a professional manner and photographed.

Altogether the museum experience comes very close to what it really must have been to visit a lady from a local merchant family.

 


HOW TO REACH

Directions

Public transportation:
Train station Gouda> Bus Connexxion 106/107> stop Haastrecht Village.
Auto: The museum is located on the provincial road, N228, between Gouda and Oudewater.
Parking:
There are several parking very near and more places in the immediate vicinity.


ADMISSION

Admission
Adults: € 5.00
Children / 12 years, 65+ and CJP: € 3.50
Museum Card, ICOM and Rembrandt free (except for group visits)


VISITOR INFO

ADDRESS:
Hoogstraat 166
2851 Haastrecht
South Holland
Netherlands

GET THE
CLOUDGUIDE APP NOW!

CloudGuide is a free app and platform to bring digital content of cultural institutions and tourist attractions to your own smartphone. Download now and enjoy the visit!

DOWNLOAD NOW AND ENJOY THE VISIT!